Wind from the north, a wise fisherman doesn't set forth. Wind from the east, fish bite the least. Wind from the south, blows bait in the the fish's mouth. Wind from the west, fish bite the best.

Chris Hole trophy winners

A perpetual trophy presented each year to the ‘top rod’ (highest placed Australian) in World Championship Competitions. The trophy was donated to FFA by Ben Rayner (International Organiser) and Doug Flynn (Chief Controller), members of the organising committee for the 1999 world fly fishing championships which were held in the Snowy Mountains of NSW. The trophy commemorates the contribution of Chris Hole to FFA and in particular his contribution to the 1999 worlds. Among other things Chris was an artist and author and his artwork featured in the event logo and promotional materials. He also contributed all the artwork for the FFA publication ‘Australia’s Best Trout Flies’ (1999).

Chris’s wife Gini who resides in Canberra is always invited to present the trophy at the National Championships dinner each year.

The trophy was first presented in 1999 to Ross Stewart who was the individual gold medal winner and also a team gold medallist for the Australian Team.

Gini Hole presenting the Chris Hole Trophy at the 2008 National Championships in Adaminaby.

Year Trophy Winner Location
1999 Ross Stewart (1) Australia (Jindabyne)
2008 Joe Riley
2009 Max Verashaka (22) Scotland
2010 Joe Riley
2011 Joe Riley Italy
2012 Rick Sunderland Slovenia
2015 Christopher Bassano
2016 Jon Stagg USA

2015 recipient Christopher Bassano.