Wind from the north, a wise fisherman doesn't set forth. Wind from the east, fish bite the least. Wind from the south, blows bait in the the fish's mouth. Wind from the west, fish bite the best.

National Champion trophy

First awarded in 1994 to John Sautelle Jnr. The trophy is made of Huon Pine and was donated to FFA by Malcolm Crosse. The embossed artwork on the trophy was prepared by Trevor Hawkins.


1994 John Sautelle Jnr Tasmania
1995 Owen Nuttridge
1996 Ross Stewart
1997 Chris Hill
1998 Peter Hayes
1999 Tim Urbanc Tasmania
2000 Andrew Scott Falls Creek
2001 Jonothan Stagg Khancoban
2002 Vern Barby Tasmania
2003 Jonothan Stagg Mount Beauty
2004 Stuart Rees Buckenderra
2005 Jonothan Stagg Tasmania
2006 Vern Barby South Australia
2007 Scott Tucker Falls Creek
2008 Joe Riley Adaminaby
2009 Joe Riley Bronte Park
2010 Rick Sunderland Launceston
2011 Jim Williams Falls Creek
2012 Luke Barby Buckenderra
2013 Joshua Flowers Miena
2014 Christopher Bassano Falls Creek
2015 Glenn Eggleton Adaminaby
2016 Christopher Bassano Miena